Biostatistics People

Faculty

Kevin Anstrom, PhD

Division Chief
Professor
kevin.anstrom@duke.edu
Research Interests

Biostatistics:Causal inference,Semiparametric or nonparametric,Survival Analysis
Clinical Research: Clinical Trial Design / Risk Based Modeling, Comparative Effectiveness, Non-Inferiority Analysis, Outcomes and Health Services Research, Predictive Medicine

Areas of Collaboration
Cardiology, Dermatology, Community Health,Global Health, Infectious Diseases, Population Health, Pulmonary

Susan Halabi, PhD

Division Chief 
Professor
susan.halabi@duke.edu
Research Interests

Biostatistics: 
Clinical Research:  Clinical Trial Design / Risk Based Modeling

Areas of Collaboration
Oncology, Surgery

Hussein Al-Khalidi, PhD

Professor
hussein.al-khalidi@duke.edu
Research Interests

Biostatistics: Categorical data analysis,Clustering,Generalized linear models,Hierarchial models,Longitudinal or dependent data,Meta-Analysis,Mixed effect models,Missing or mismeasured data, Observational Studies, Prognostic and predictive models,Risk assessment,Semiparametric or nonparametric,Sequential Analysis,Stochastic Modeling,Survival Analysis
Clinincal Resarch: Clinical Trial Design / Risk Based Modeling,Non-Inferiority Analysis,Outcomes and Health Services Research,Predictive Medicine

Areas of Collaboration
Cardiology,Neurology,Urology

Huiman Barnhart, PhD

Professor
huiman.barnhart@duke.edu
Research Interests

Hrishikesh Chakraborty

Associate Professor
hrishikesh.chakraborty@duke.edu
Research Interests

Bioinformatics: Data Integration
Biomedical Informatics: Electronic Health Records Data,Integrative Data Analysis,Patient Reported Outcome,Precision Medicine,Translational Research
Biostatistics: Categorical data analysis,Clustering,Generalized linear models,Hierarchial models,Longitudinal or dependent data,Mixed effect models,Resampling methods,Risk assessment,Stochastic Modeling,Survival Analysis, Mathematical Modeling, Joint and Mathematical Modeling
Clinical Research: Clinical Trial Design / Risk Based Modeling,Comparative Effectiveness,Predictive Medicine, Cluster Randomized Trial Design and Analysis
Statistical Genetics and Genomics: Population Genetics

Areas of Collaboration
AIDS, Cardiology, Community Health, Global Health, Immunology, Infectious Diseases, Internal Medicine, Materal and Child Health, Nephrology, Pediatrics, Population Health

Shein-Chung Chow, PhD

Professor
sheinchung.chow@duke.edu
Research Interests

Cynthia Coffman, PhD

Associate Professor
cynthia.coffman@duke.edu
Research Interests

Alaattin Erkanli, PhD

Associate Professor
al@psych.mc.duke.edu
Research Interests

Steven Grambow, PhD

Assistant Professor
steven.grambow@duke.edu
Research Interests

Biostatistics: Longitudinal or Dependent Data, Mixed Effect Models
Clinical Research: Clinical Trial Design / Risk Based Modeling, Comparative Effectiveness, Outcomes and Health Services Research

Areas of Collaboration
Cardiology, Dermatology, Endocrinology, Gastroenterology, Hematology, Infectious Diseases, Internal Medicine, Nephrology, Oncology, Pediatrics, Psychiatry, Veterans Affairs

Cynthia Green, PhD

Assistant Professor
green034@duke.edu
Research Interests
James Herndon

James Herndon, PhD

Professor
hames.herndon@duke.edu
Research Interests

Biostatistics

Amy Herring, PhD

Professor
amy.herring@Duke.edu
Research Interests

Biostatistics: Bayesian models, Categorical data analysis, Clustering, Generalized linear models, Hierarchial models, Longitudinal or dependent data, Mixed effect models, Missing or mismeasured data, Semiparametric or nonparametric
Clinical Research: Comparative Effectiveness, Outcomes and Health Services Research

Areas of Collaboration
Community Health, Environmental Engineering, Global Health, OB/GYN, Pediatrics, Population Health, Pulmonary

Hwanhee Hong, PhD

Assistant Professor
hwanhee.hong@duke.edu
Research Interests

Bioinformatics: Data Integration
Biomedical Informatics: Integrative Data Analysis,Patient Reported Outcome,Precision Medicine
Biostatistics: Bayesian models,Causal inference,Hierarchial models,Meta-Analysis,Mixed effect models,Missing or mismeasured data
Clinical Research: Clinical Trial Design / Risk Based Modeling,Comparative Effectiveness

Areas of Collaboration
Cardiology,Pediatrics,Psychiatry

Andrzej Kosinski, PhD

Associate Professor 
andrzej.kosinski@duke.edu
Research Interests

Biostatistics: Clustering, Longitudinal or dependent data, Missing or mismeasured data, Diagnostic tests
Clinical Research:Clinical Trial Design / Risk Based Modeling,Comparative Effectiveness,Non-Inferiority Analysis,Outcomes and Health Services Research

Areas of Collaboration
Cardiology, Oncology, Orthopedics, Hepatology

Maragatha Kuchibhatla

Professor
maggie.kuchibhatla@duke.edu
Research Interests

Zhiguo Li

Associate Professor 
zhiguo.li@duke.edu
Research Interests

Bioinformatics: Machine Learning
Biostatistics:
 Missing or mismeasured data, Resampling methods, Semiparametric or nonparametric, Survival Analysis
Clinical Research:Clinical Trial Design / Risk Based Modeling, Non-Inferiority Analysis

Areas of Collaboration
Hematology, Oncology, Psychiatry

Yuliya Lokhnygina, PhD

Assistant Professor
yuliya.lokhnygina@duke.edu
Research Interests

Sheng Luo, PhD

Professor
sheng.luo@duke.edu
Research Interests

Bioinformatics:  Convolutional Neural Network, Machine Learning, Omics
Biomedical Informatics: Electronic Health Records Data, Integrative Data Analysis, Mobile Technology, Multi-Modal Biomedical Data, Patient Reported Outcome, Precision Medicine
Biostatistics: Bayesian models, Causal inference, Hierarchial models, Longitudinal or dependent data, Medical imaging, Mixed effect models, Semiparametric or nonparametric, Survival Analysis
Clinical Resarch: Clinical Trial Design / Risk Based Modeling, Outcomes and Health Services Research, Predictive Medicine
Statistical Genetics and Genomics: Genetic Epidemiology,Predictive Modeling,Statistical Genetics

Areas of Collaboration
Neurology, Pediatrics, Radiology

Roland Matsouaka, PhD

Assistant Professor
roland.matsouaka@duke.edu
Research Interests

Biostatistics: Categorical data analysis, Causal inference,Clustering, Generalized linear models, Hierarchial models, Mixed effect models, Missing or mismeasured data, Prognostic and predictive models, Resampling methods, Semiparametric or nonparametric, Survival Analysis
Clinical Research: Comparative Effectiveness, Outcomes and Health Services Research, Predictive Medicine

Areas of Collaboration
Cardiology, Community Health, Internal Medicine, Nephrology, Pulmonary

Megan Neely, PhD

Assistant Professor
megan.neely@duke.edu
Research Interests

Biostatistics: Longitudinal or dependent data, Prognostic and predictive models, Risk assessment, Survival Analysis
Clinical Research: Outcomes and Health Services Research, Predictive Medicine

Areas of Collaboration
Pulmonary, Transplant

Donna Niedzwiecki, PhD

Professor
niedz001@mc.duke.edu
Research Interests

Sean O'Brien, PhD

Associate Professor
sean.m.obrien@duke.edu
Research Interests

Biostatistics: Bayesian models, Categorical Data Analysis, Causal Inference, Clustering,Hierarchial Models, Longitudinal or Dependent Data
Clinical Research: Clinical Trials Design / Risk Based Modeling, Comparative Effectiveness, Outcomes and Health Services Research, Predictive Medicine, Health Care Provider Performance Evaluation
Biomedical Informatics: Precision Medicine

Areas of Collaboration
Cardiology, Infectious Diseases, Cardiac Surgery

Maren Olsen, PhD

Associate Professor
maren.olsen@duke.edu
Research Interests

Clinical Research: Outcomes and Health Serivces Research

Areas of Collaboration
Geriatrics, Internal Medicine, Population Health, Pulmonary, Veterans Affairs

David Page, PhD

Department Chair
Professor
david.page@duke.edu
Research Interests

John Pearson, PhD

Assistant Professor
john.pearson@duke.edu
Research Interests

Bioinformatics:  Machine Learning
Biomedical Informatics: Image Processing
Biostatistics: Bayesian models, Generalized linear models, Hierarchial models, Semiparametric or nonparametric

Areas of Collaboration
Neurobiology, Cognitive Neuroscience, Neurosurgery,

Michael Pencina, PhD

Professor
Vice Dean, Data Science and Information Technology
michael.pencina@duke.edu
Research Interests

Jane Pendergast, PhD

Professor
jane.pendergast@duke.edu
Research Interests

Carl Pieper, PhD

Associate Professor
carl.pieper@duke.edu
Research Interests

Frank Rockhold, PhD

Professor
frank.rockhold@duke.edu
Research Interests

Bioinformatics: Data Integration, Standards Development Ontologies and Annotations
Biomedical Informatics: Electronic Health Records Data, Open Science
Biostatistics: Experimental Design
Clinical Research: Clinical Trial Design / Risk Based Modeling, Bioequivalence/Biosimilarity, Non-Inferiority Analysis

Areas of Collaboration
Cardiology, Endocrinology, Gastroenterology,Infectious Diseases, Internal Medicine, Nephrology, Neurology, Oncology, Opthamology, Pediatrics

Greg Samsa, PhD

Professor
greg.samsa@duke.edu
Research Interests

Biostatistics: Conflict of Interest, Education
Clinical Research: Outcomes and Health Services Research

Areas of Collaboration
Oncology

Sandra Stinnett, PhD

Associate Professor
stinn001@duke.edu
Research Interests

Clinical Research: Observational Studies

Areas of Collaboration
Global Health, Opthamology

Laine Thomas, PhD

Associate Professor
laine.thomas@duke.edu
Research Interests
Jesse Troy, PhD

Jesse Troy, PhD

Assistant Professor
jesse.troy@duke.edu
Research Interests

Biostatistics: Bayesian models, Categorical data analysis, Longitudinal or dependent data, Semiparametric or nonparametric, Sequential Analysis
Clinical Research: Clinical Trial Design / Risk Based Modeling, Outcomes and Health Services Research

Areas of Collaboration
Hematology, Oncology, Pediatrics, Psychiatry

Elizabeth Turner, PhD

Associate Professor
liz.turner@duke.edu
Research Interests

Biostatistics: Categorical data analysis, Clustering, Longitudinal or dependent data, Semiparametric or nonparametric
Clinical Research: Clinical Trial Design / Risk Based Modeling,Comparative Effectiveness,Outcomes and Health Services Research

Areas of Collaboration
Global Health

Xiaofei Wang, PhD

Professor
xiaofei.wang@duke.edu
Research Interests

Yuan Wu

Assistant Professor
yuan.wu@duke.edu
Research Interests